Welcome to another edition of New Comics, where we give our suggestions on what books to pick up when perusing the comic shelves week to week. As always, I am joined by Kris Johnson of Bizarre Comics Entertainment. Read on to find the best of what the comic shop has in store for you this week.

Here we go.

stl019983PROWLER #1 $3.99 (Marvel) – Sure, this book is a Clone Conspiracy re-launch and features what one might consider a niche Marvel character in the lead, so it may be a hard sell for some. I encourage you to give it a look, if not for the opportunity to dive into a sorely underrated member of Spider-Man’s extended cast of characters, then to experience the awesomeness that is the Big Leagues debut of Toronto comic artist Jamal Campbell. This dude has has been killing it on webcomics and indie books for years and now he’s getting his shot on a Marvel title. His skills are off the charts so toss a couple ducats towards this book come Wednesday and enjoy, will ya? (Kris Johnson)

JUGHEAD #10 $3.99 (Archie) – This issue can only be summed up in two glorious words: PRANK WAR! That’s right, Juggy’s going to war with Sabrina the Teenage Witch and nothing will ever be the same again! Ryan North and Derek Charm are bringing you every shot fired in this battle for the prankiest. All I know is that while Jughead may have a problem with the teen witch, he better watch himself. She is a witch after all, so that makes her a bit out of his league……unless we’re talking pranks, that is. Can’t wait to see it all go down. (Andrew)

CAPTAIN AMERICA: WHITE TP $24.99 (Marvel) – There’s been a lot of great Captain America stories published over the last 15 years or so and Captain America White deserves a slot right around the top of that illustrious list. After years apart, the legendary duo of Jeph Loeb and Tim Sale re-teamed to shine new light on the origins of both Captain America and Bucky Barnes, and man-o-man, did those dudes make it count. Sale absolutely brought it in the art department and Loeb produced one of his best scripts in years, combining to create an all-time time classic piece of comic goodness. And now it can be yours in this lovely trade paperback. Keen! (Kris Johnson)

stl019272THE SKEPTICS #1 $3.99 (Black Mask) – Back during the Cold War, the U.S. would stop at nothing to get an edge over the Russians. They were also quick to believe any rumours about their opponents, like the possibility they have access to super-powered people. So when the government is looking for supes of their own, it might not be that hard to trick them into thinking you’re the genuine article. Enter two kids who with the help of eccentric illusionist, convince the uppity ups in Washington that they have psychic abilities. I’m sure nothing bad will come from this……sarcasm may have been detected in that last sentence. Fair warning. (Andrew)

BATMAN BEYOND #1 $2.99 (DC Comics) – Terry McGuinness has returned to the mantle of Batman Beyond! Unluckily for him, another major figure from the annals of the Dark Knight’s history has also chosen to make a comeback. Just who the hell am I talking about? Why, the Clown Prince of Crime, of course! Wait, Whaaaaat?! Yeah, I don’t know how that works either but the Jokerz don’t seem to give a shit. Daddy’s home and they are gonna burn Neo-Gotham to the ground. (Kris Johnson)

BLACK WIDOW TP VOL 01 SHIELDS MOST WANTED $17.99 (Marvel) – If there was a comic on the stands that could be best described as “an espionage thrill ride that has taken a character to the A List”, Black Widow would be that comic. If you have not yet read this sacred tome from Mark Waid and Chris Samnee, you are truly missing out on some of the greatest sequential storytelling of the modern era. Samnee is putting on a clinic on how to draw a spy book. You may need a cigarette after reading, it’s that satisfying. Do yourself a favor and pick up the trade this week. You’ll thank me later. (Andrew)

stl020636SERENITY: NO POWER IN THE VERSE #1 (OF 6) $3.99 (Dark Horse) – Whenever Dark Horse puts out a new Serenity book its always a cause for celebration. As everyone and their brother is aware by now, the beloved t.v. series was cancelled far too early, but the “officially official” in-canon comic series help to take the sting off a little with their consistently high quality artwork and pitch-perfect characterization. No Power In the Verse looks to continue that tradition. With a script from Chris Roberson and Art supplied by Buffy artist Georges Jeanty, this new series looks to follow the down-on-their-luck cast of Firefly as they embark on a new adventure surrounding the mysterious disappearance of an old friend. I reckon this book’ll scratch a mighty itch for fans of Mal, River, Zoe, and the rest of the Serenity crew. (Kris Johnson)

SPOOKHOUSE #1 $3.99 (Albatross) – Scary campfire stories from the mind of Eric Powell? Yes please, sign me up. This book is bound to entertain…..and maybe even creep you out a little bit. Nothing wrong with that. A little fright never hurt anyone. (Andrew)

WONDER WOMAN 75TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIAL #1 $7.99 (DC Comics) – It’s Wonder Woman’s 75th birthday, ya’ll. I swear she doesn’t look a day over 29. Must be those lovely Amazonian genes. Or that she’s a comic character. Whatevs. Anywho, a who’s who of the comic elite have gathered to fete the Princess of Power (suck it, She-Ra) including Rafael Albuquerque, Brian Azzarello, Cliff Chiang, Renae De Liz, Brenden Fletcher, Adam Hughes, Karl Kerschl, Gail Simone and a whole trireme’s worth more! So what, are you just gonna ignore a line-up like that? No. Of course not. That would be ridiculous. (Kris Johnson)

stl019782MS MARVEL #12 $4.99 (Marvel) – She’s on the road and don’t know where she’s going. Kamala Khan is going global. After the events of Civil War II, Ms. Marvel has lost a mentor and a best friend, so the best thing for her is to travel to where she can make a new name for herself. Will this be a difficult task? It’s a book about Ms. Marvel, so yeah, it’s not going to be easy for her. Like come on, has anything ever been easy for Kamala? All I know is that if it’s anything like any of the major adventures she’s already been on, it’s going to be an entertaining trip to say the least. Stow away with Kamala and enjoy the journey. (Andrew)

 

 

So there you go. That’s this week’s New Comics Check these books out and let us know what you think. We’ll be back again next week with more choice cuts of comic goodness!

If you’re gonna geek out, GEEK HARD!

Jughead #10

Jughead #10

Follow, Like or Share
Patreon
RSS
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
INSTAGRAM
YouTube
The following two tabs change content below.

Andrew Young

Host/Producer at Geek Hard
Andrew Young has been involved in the entertainment industry for over 15 years as a writer, comedian and director. Andrew is one half of the hosting duo that makes up Geek Hard. He occasionally sleeps but doesn't endorse this behaviour.