Originally Aired: 01/20/17

We discuss the news of the week. Tesla snags Apple programmer Chris Lattner to work on their Autopilot software. Sony announces a Spider-man animated feature starring the Miles Morales Spider-man. CBS & Paramount finally settle with producer Alec Peters of Prelude to Axanar the Star Trek fan-film.

Our review of Split starring James McAvoy, Anya Taylor-Joy and Haley Lu Richardson. Synopsis: Though Kevin (James McAvoy) has evidenced 23 personalities to his trusted psychiatrist, Dr. Fletcher (Betty Buckley), there remains one still submerged who is set to materialize and dominate all of the others. Compelled to abduct three teenage girls led by the willful, observant Casey, Kevin reaches a war for survival among all of those contained within him — as well as everyone around him — as the walls between his compartments shatter.

We also talk with comic creator and YA Novelist Mariko Tamaki. Mariko has just recently had two new comic titles released – Supergirl: Being Super for DC and Hulk for Marvel. She talked to us about both series and what to expect in the coming issues for Kara Danvers and Jennifer Walters in their respective books. Mariko Tamaki is a Canadian writer living in Oakland. Works include New York Times bestseller This One Summer (First Second/Groundwood Books) and Skim (Groundwood Books), with Jillian Tamaki, Emiko Superstar (DC Comics), with Steve Rolston, and the YA novel (You) Set Me on Fire (Penguin Canada). This One Summer was the winner of Printz and Caldecott Honors in 2015 and received the Eisner for Best Graphic Album (New).

It was a great show!

Plus for our Patreon supporters, our latest Geek Hard Extra After Credits segment discussing the latest Logan and Power Rangers trailers released this past week.

If you’re gonna geek out, GEEK HARD!

Production Credits:

Geek Hard Logo – Candice Hibbard and Rich Robbins
Technical Production – Gary LaBarr, Recorded at the Reality Radio 101 Studio
Producers – Andrew Young & James Green

Music Credits:

Opening Music “Eterna Teen” by Mark Holman
“Hold On” by Midnight Pilot
“Wildewoman” by Lucius
“Tied to You” by Neil Halstead
“Always be a Fool” by Midnight Pilot
“Why Won’t You Stop” by Plumtree
“Tomorrow” by Branches
Closing Music “Kelly’s Heroes” by Black Grape