This past Sunday (February 10th, 2019), at the Aga Khan Museum in Toronto, Geek Hard got the chance to attend the first ever CAFTCAD Awards (aka The Judys). The event was put on by the Canadian Alliance of Film & Television Costume Arts & Design and recognized achievement in costume design and production in film and television projects from the previous year. The event was hosted by Thom Allison of Killjoys and Sharron Matthews of Frankie Drake Mysteries. Awards were handed out in 13 categories ranging from film and television productions to web series and music videos.

Here’s a list of the official winners. And the Judy goes to……

Excellence in Crafts – Costume Illustration: 

A Series of Unfortunate Events Season 2

  • Illustrator: Keith Lau

Excellence in Crafts – Textile Arts: 

A Series of Unfortunate Events Season 2

  • Key Breakdown Artist: Sage Lovett
  • Breakdown Artist: Chance Lovett

Excellence in Crafts – Building: 

The Shape of Water

  • Cutter: Tamiyo Tomihiro
  • Seamstresses: Ying Zhao & Sylvie Bonniere

Best Styling in Commercials & Music Videos:

Woods Canada “Is There”

  • Stylist: Marie-Eve Tremblay
  • Wardrobe Assistant (Toronto): Marie-Elyse McGuire
  • Wardrobe Assistant (Vancouver): Matea Pasarić

Best Costume Design in a Web Series:

Chateau Laurier

  • Costume Designer: Joanna Syrokomla

Best Costume Design in Short Film:


  • Costume Designer: Joanna Syrokomla

The NABET 700-M UNIFOR Award: Best Costume Design in Low Budget Feature:

Sgawaay K’uuna – The Edge of the Knife

  • Costume Designer: Athena Theny

The IATSE 873 Award: Best Costume Design in TV – Contemporary:

Schitt’s Creek – Episode 405 RIP Moira Rose

  • Costume Designer: Debra Hanson

The IATSE 873 Award: Best Costume Design in TV – Period:

Anne with an E – Episode 207 Memory Has as Many Moods as the Temper

  • Costume Designer: Alexander Reda

The IATSE 873 Award: Best Costume Design in TV – Sci-Fi/Fantasy:

A Series of Unfortunate Events Episode 210 The Carnivorous Carnival

  • Costume Designer: Cynthia Summers

Best Costume Design in Film – Contemporary:

Hold The Dark

  • Costume Designer: Antoinette Messam

Best Costume Design in Film – Period: 

The Shape of Water

  • Costume Designer: Luis Sequeira

Industry Icon Award: Delphine White

Congratulations to all the winners. Congratulations also to Cynthia Amsden, Joanna Syrokomla and everyone involved in organizing the CAFTCAD Awards. Looking foward to the 2020 Judys!

Below is a gallery of the many costumes on display at the event. Check ’em out!

Photo Credit: Sammy Younan

If you’re gonna geek out, GEEK HARD!